Limited edition memory photo

big neil

Active member
Joined
15 Jan 2001
Messages
3,666
Reaction score
31
Location
Northolt
This has become nonsensical.
Has anyone actually received one yet?
 

cromerbee

...we are the Royal Oak, Griffin Park.
Joined
13 Dec 2007
Messages
4,655
Reaction score
99
Location
Felpham, W.Sussex
Had email this morning. Due to COVID outbreak at their printing facility, now been delayed until 6th November.
 

wanderer paul

https://brentfordfcmemorabilia.wordpress.com/
Joined
28 Oct 2002
Messages
49,311
Reaction score
529
Location
Brentford
Becoming a bit of a joke.
 

Herbert

Formerly known as newbee79
Joined
2 Jul 2011
Messages
10,721
Reaction score
86
Location
Northolt
Utterly piss poor comms. That’ll be a minimum of 6 weeks since ordering. I’m sure there will be another glitch in the mean time. If we’re lucky the prints will arrive before Christmas.
Better than BFC comms at times !

So long as they get the order right, does it matter if delayed ?
 

Herbert

Formerly known as newbee79
Joined
2 Jul 2011
Messages
10,721
Reaction score
86
Location
Northolt
Ordered 29th Sept, no mention that they were waiting until after the closing date 16th Oct to process. Poor communication along the way.
Yeah. But if your order is right, does it matter.
 

Untouchable

Once called a bastard by a Judge
Joined
5 May 2014
Messages
1,645
Reaction score
429
Better than BFC comms at times !

So long as they get the order right, does it matter if delayed ?
It doesn’t matter at all if you don’t value good communication and customer service.
 

wanderer paul

https://brentfordfcmemorabilia.wordpress.com/
Joined
28 Oct 2002
Messages
49,311
Reaction score
529
Location
Brentford
Yeah. But if your order is right, does it matter.
It does, yes!!

Poor comms from them and the company admitted it to me via email. After no sighting of the picture ordered before 16 October. Then, they have an issue at the printing facility which, yet again, wasn’t communicated in good time.

It hasn’t been great from them....
 

Simon C

Moderator
Joined
6 Feb 2001
Messages
18,329
Reaction score
206
Location
'slow
I didn't get why these were worth it if you did the tour and got a chance to take personal photos but if they are impacted by Covid a little understanding doesn't seem too much to ask. The Comms may not have been great but there isn't any time sensitivity on these photos is there?
 

Herbert

Formerly known as newbee79
Joined
2 Jul 2011
Messages
10,721
Reaction score
86
Location
Northolt
It does, yes!!

Poor comms from them and the company admitted it to me via email. After no sighting of the picture ordered before 16 October. Then, they have an issue at the printing facility which, yet again, wasn’t communicated in good time.

It hasn’t been great from them....
I made an order. Got the email yesterday saying the problems. They have been pretty rubbish with comms & taking the order details but So long as i receive the order and it is correct im alright with the delay
 

mk1965

Active member
Joined
2 Sep 2002
Messages
1,688
Reaction score
0
Location
Milton Keynes
I didn't get why these were worth it if you did the tour and got a chance to take personal photos but if they are impacted by Covid a little understanding doesn't seem too much to ask. The Comms may not have been great but there isn't any time sensitivity on these photos is there?
Did the tour, some seats were already removed and the tarpaulins still over seats so photos from my particular area not possible. Good customer service and communication isn’t much to expect...is it?
 

ruislip bee

Well-known member
Joined
25 Apr 2009
Messages
20,691
Reaction score
299
Those saying piss poor communications - at least they've communicated. I can think of loads of occasions when the club haven't.
 

wanderer paul

https://brentfordfcmemorabilia.wordpress.com/
Joined
28 Oct 2002
Messages
49,311
Reaction score
529
Location
Brentford
Those saying piss poor communications - at least they've communicated.
I can think of loads of occasions when the club haven't.
Only because they were receiving emails of complaints!

As they agreed with in the reply I had re lack of comms.
 
Joined
11 Jun 2005
Messages
19,002
Reaction score
59
Location
Berkshire
"I am pleased to say that we are nearly back on track and thankfully working through lockdown. We will be going to print Friday, so you will receive your order early next week. Thank you for your patience and enjoy your memory of Griffin Park."
 
Joined
11 Jun 2005
Messages
19,002
Reaction score
59
Location
Berkshire
"MyMo is delighted to say that your order will be delivered to you next week. They have all been printed and will be posted today. We would like to once again thank you for your patience and tolerance during the delay due to Covid, as we know that you have been looking forward to receiving your 'Farwell to Griffin Park memory."
 

DCBEE

Member
Joined
29 Jun 2012
Messages
7
Reaction score
0
Got mine this morning also and a bit disappointed. Appreciate that it was always going to be a photo taken from an approximate area of your seat but my New Road seat was halfway back with a pillar in view and what I’ve received is obviously taken from the front few rows and not how I remember my view at all ! Also along with my ordered photo I received another envelope addressed correctly to me but someone else’s photo in it ! I will be returning so they can re-post to the correct individual.
 

STNEOTS BEE

Member
Joined
2 Sep 2013
Messages
42
Reaction score
0
Mine also arrived today. I sat in row Q in the New Road Stand , 2nd row from the back, and the view seems to have Been taken from half way down.
 

Alex

Active member
Joined
9 May 2000
Messages
8,977
Reaction score
38
Location
Hillingdon
A bit disappointed here too, I think the quality of the print is not that great and the photo itself could have been taken on a nicer day. I have better pictures I have taken myself
 

Herbert

Formerly known as newbee79
Joined
2 Jul 2011
Messages
10,721
Reaction score
86
Location
Northolt
Received my 2. One from the paddock, one from Ealing Road.

They double sent the order so got 4.

The 2 Ealing Road are central but different heights.

One doesn’t have the in memory message on it i asked for. The other doesn’t have the name on it but the GP our home.
Not overly surprised to be honest, what did we really expect for £10.

I also ordered the official final GP photo but didn’t receive that. Emailed them and they said they’re being sent out seperately, should have it by Friday
 

Castleview

Member
Joined
14 Apr 2009
Messages
682
Reaction score
16
Or put a supporting card in.
I thought the same re Do not Bend. Very disappointed with the picture. From back of New Rd halfway line I've got a full half picture of New Rd roof and T.V. Gantry. The rest is half seats Infront of me & half a pitch.
 

Peteseeger

Member
Joined
15 May 2013
Messages
50
Reaction score
35
Location
Brentford
A bit disappointed here too, I think the quality of the print is not that great and the photo itself could have been taken on a nicer day. I have better pictures I have taken myself
Totally agree. I am a keen photographer and to be honest the quality of this is extremely poor nor was it taken anywhere near to where I sit – they got the right stand but that is about all. I had an inkling it would be this way but I just couldn't stop myself from taking the plunge. At least I managed to take some half decent photos during my farewell tour.
 
Joined
25 Nov 2009
Messages
73
Reaction score
6
Utterly piss poor comms. That’ll be a minimum of 6 weeks since ordering. I’m sure there will be another glitch in the mean time. If we’re lucky the prints will arrive before Christmas.
Mine arrived yesterday so disappointed with it, I sat half way back in D block in Braemar Road and was expecting near enough the view I used to have from my seat, steel pillar and all. What I received was a view of New Road no sign of either of the goal mouths at Ealing or Brook Road ends, so no reminder of all the memorable goals scored at G.P. the picture has obviously been taken from the front of the stand cutting out most of the view you had from from further back in the stand, not the memory I expected to keep of our wonderful old home and over seventy years of supporting the club I loved.
 

Griffingreen

Royal Oak Exile
Joined
14 Nov 2001
Messages
2,632
Reaction score
65
Location
Hampton
Totally agree. I am a keen photographer and to be honest the quality of this is extremely poor nor was it taken anywhere near to where I sit – they got the right stand but that is about all. I had an inkling it would be this way but I just couldn't stop myself from taking the plunge. At least I managed to take some half decent photos during my farewell tour.
Seconded, even photos with my phone were better, imagine what could have been done by a professional with decent a lens.
 

Peteseeger

Member
Joined
15 May 2013
Messages
50
Reaction score
35
Location
Brentford
Seconded, even photos with my phone were better, imagine what could have been done by a professional with decent a lens.
You don't necessarily need an expensive camera. It is more important that the person behind the camera pays enough due attention to the photograph being taken. The photos were probably taken by a professional/commercial photographer, but unfortunately the emphasise has been on quantity (to meet demand from submitted orders) with quality and 100% accuracy being of secondary importance.
 

GuyBee

Active member
Joined
1 Apr 2006
Messages
1,725
Reaction score
5
Location
Hertfordshire
Seconded, even photos with my phone were better, imagine what could have been done by a professional with decent a lens.

So very poor. Literally more than 50% of mine is dark roof. I cant believe any vagualy professional photographer took these. A complete waste of money

IMG_20201112_105359237.jpg

Sadly cos we didnt realise Shef Weds was the last game I never took a picture, and couldnt get uyp to my seat on the tour
 

hobbsy

Optimist
Joined
23 Apr 2005
Messages
16,109
Reaction score
329
Location
KT3 New Malden
You don't necessarily need an expensive camera. It is more important that the person behind the camera pays enough due attention to the photograph being taken. The photos were probably taken by a professional/commercial photographer, but unfortunately the emphasise has been on quantity (to meet demand from submitted orders) with quality and 100% accuracy being of secondary importance.
The photographer should've been seated or as near to seated as possible, so that it mimics a proper view.
 

NZ Bee

Member
Joined
4 Sep 2015
Messages
174
Reaction score
5
Just received mine in the post.

Bent like everyone elses and nothing on the envelope to suggest it shouldn't be bent.

Also - there is a large discolouration on mine - Ealing Road Left of goal, halfway up. Does anyone else have this?
 

Mjw43

Member
Joined
6 Aug 2016
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Location
Dartmouth
Got mine this morning, was out when post arrived, but it had been bent through the letterbox, not great quality .
 

Peteseeger

Member
Joined
15 May 2013
Messages
50
Reaction score
35
Location
Brentford
I have contacted Rob at MyMo and to be fair he has agreed to send me another photograph which is nearer to where I used to sit. The crazy thing is these photos were taken with a Canon 5D Mark IV coupled with a Canon 16-35mm lens, the sort of setup costing over £3000 so I cannot understand the poor quality. In my case the New Road stand, from where the photo was taken is fine but the pitch and opposite stands are either out of focus and/or the colours are completely washed out. I have tweaked the sample photo Rob sent me to try and recover some of the colour from the washed-out sections and asked him to use my amended version. I know these photos only cost £10, a £1 of which goes to charity, but if you are going to do a job like this, do it professionally.
 

Longhope Bee

Longhope Bee
Joined
8 Feb 2007
Messages
84
Reaction score
4
Location
Farnham
Mine arrived yesterday so disappointed with it, I sat half way back in D block in Braemar Road and was expecting near enough the view I used to have from my seat, steel pillar and all. What I received was a view of New Road no sign of either of the goal mouths at Ealing or Brook Road ends, so no reminder of all the memorable goals scored at G.P. the picture has obviously been taken from the front of the stand cutting out most of the view you had from from further back in the stand, not the memory I expected to keep of our wonderful old home and over seventy years of supporting the club I loved.
Agree. My 'photo received yesterday and TBH does not really remined me of my view from D Block and I have better random shots taken from my i phone at various times. But hey-ho, not the end of the world and at least £1 to CRY. A shame though that almost everyone is disappointed with the result
 

Cowlick94

Member
Joined
22 Jan 2013
Messages
226
Reaction score
1
Not adding much to this other than just to echo what others have said in that what I received really is shocking quality. I have to laugh at it to be honest but it was only a tenner. Probably would have preferred to just give the full £10 to the charity and not received the photo.

Pic received as view from Ealing Road is blurry, taken at an angle, and doesn't even show the whole pitch. As others have said, photos I took on my phone at the Farewell GP tours are of better quality and I would be better off getting a selection of those framed.

Also another one here that arrived bent when pushed through the letter box :banghead:
 

Marek

Member
Joined
9 Jun 2003
Messages
673
Reaction score
5
Location
Dublin
Agree with most on here that the quality of the photography leaves a lot to be desired. Originally I was put off by the 'default' photo they offered because of the amount of roof in it and that theme seems to have continued in some of your examples here.
Instead I took a punt and asked for one from the middle of Ealing Road. It's fine. The added bonus is that only about 10% of the image is roof. Also agree with the wish that they'd have taken the photos on a better day weather-wise.

Overall impression: nice effort, poor execution.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top Bottom