I agree, it was denial of a golal scoring opportunity, what else can it be?There was no attempt to play the ball though...it was purely an attempt to stop the man. I do actually think that was a red, even if it wouldn't have even been a booking in the middle of the pitch.
The player was already on a yellow though, so he was walking either way.
True ! I think ref got flustered and knew would have to send him off as second yellow and he forgot to wave the yellow first!Surely that should have been a yellow not a red card under the rules as we got a penalty? On the other hand, it was definitely a yellow and he'd already been booked, so it doesn't make a huge difference.